Obama and Iran

The following is a direct quote from Obama’s webpage:

Diplomacy: Obama is the only major candidate who supports tough, direct presidential diplomacy with Iran without preconditions. Now is the time to pressure Iran directly to change their troubling behavior. Obama would offer the Iranian regime a choice. If Iran abandons its nuclear program and support for terrorism, we will offer incentives like membership in the World Trade Organization, economic investments, and a move toward normal diplomatic relations. If Iran continues its troubling behavior, we will step up our economic pressure and political isolation.

I wonder if that final sentence is anything different than the last 3 administrations have done? I mean, get real, Iran has not changed it’s stance with us, their ‘president’ still ends his speeches with “Death to Isreal/America” (which of course plays well and gets repeated by the idiots that listen to him). Will that be a condition of Obama’s meeting with him? He cannot have the audience (surely pressured to chant like they do) chanting “Death to America” while our president stands there and waves to the crowd. LOL Wouldn’t that be great, Pres Obama goes to visit Iran and is met with thousands chanting “Death to America!”

I feel that Iran will of course continue it’s troublign behavior, despite the Obama camps attempts to paint the country as a not-so-evil-that-Obama-cannot-make-them-behave. This will disturb Israel considerably (since nukes from Iran could reach our ally), and they will be forced to act, regardless of what Obama says. I wonder if we will be able to convince Israel not to attack Iran when it becomes clear they are about to get nukes. They have listened to us in the past, but will it work this time?

7 thoughts on “Obama and Iran

  1. Pingback: » Obama and Iran
  2. Hi
    This is an iranian boy(19).
    How are you?
    I think you donُ t like iran very much.
    I have a question!
    Why do iranians say:((down with USA))?
    Have you ever thought about it?
    Love you

  3. Sure I have thought about it allot, but I don’t understand how a man running for President of my country can thing he can go over there and use words to erect peace in a culture like that. Words of peace (and allot of or money) have gone to the Middle East and done exactly nothing. If fanatic Islam would behave and not try to tear down governments, stifle people’s freedoms, treat women like property, and threaten to destroy my way of life on a daily basis we wouldn’t be there and we wouldn’t have a beef with Iran.
    Frankly, I wish the student-led democracy movement to free their own country that was churning in Iran about a decade ago would have come to pass. I believe Iran would be a better country if it had.

  4. Hi again
    Thanks for your reply to me.
    I can imagine how different(and maybe awful)Iranُ s culture is for you.
    I think I can understand why the relationship between Iran and USA is getting worse!
    The real is that both goverments have faults in their relationship.
    Let me tell you the truth.When I was a child,I thought all americans are our enemy.I thought I should curse them(just,Down with usa) and etc.But I really was surprised when I heard my parents,my relatives told me:((NO,NEVER TELL IT AGAIN.USُ s PEOPLE ARE GOOD BUT THEIR GOVERMENT IS BAD.))
    Do you know why they tell that?
    Because we found documents from your embassy in Iran that showed they were spying in our country.
    Youُ re goverment killed alot of our fathers,just because we wanted to be free.we wanted to decide about ourown country.

    Iran govermnt,shows atleast 1 hollywood movie in its TV.(from each 10 movies that they show,7 is from USA.)
    There are alot of american english institutes in Iran.
    well,Do you think this goverment is your enemy!!??
    I really donُ t think so.
    As I see,they even donُ t want to be in war with Israel.
    The truth is,we should try to understand eachother more.
    Iran is not a danger for USA.
    Honest to god,the things that you told about Iran is not true.
    Islamic republic has alot of problems but we are trying to make it better.
    THANKS AGAIN
    TAKE CARE PLEASE
    BEST WISHES.

  5. Thank you. I agree with you that I am sure both our people are mislead and misunderstand each other very often. As for spying, every country spies on all the others, that is just a way of life, I am sure we (the US) spy on our closest allies, even Britain. I honestly hope for the best in the world and hope all people can work out their differences without war. I would really like to see a free democracy in the Middle East, I think the world would benefit greatly and I think the people there could really make their mark on the world. I know the US has made mistakes in their foreign policy, but unfortunately that comes with the democracy and a change in political powers every so often. When you say that my government killed allot of your fathers, what incidents are you referring to, I am just curious because I was unaware of any situations (minus our meddling in the Iraq-Iran war) where this could have come about.
    Thanks for the kind words about the blog, hopefully when I get to Iraq I can post some encouraging news about the situation there.

  6. Thank you very much.
    I completely agree with you.
    about the killing,I just refer to Iranian airplane with alot of passengers(child,adult,female and etc.) which american war ship aimed at it in persian gulf.
    USA has an awful history in Iran and certainly this history made our revolution 30 years ago.
    I hope you get succeed in Iraq.

Leave a Reply

