Taxes, Politics, and people who just cannot see clearly…

Wow. Ok, so I was sitting in our TOC (tactical operations center for you non-army peeps, here it is just like our office/hang out spot) and my LTC starts talking about how Obama has been advised that he cannot remove the Bush tax cuts for something like two years. Wait, got to back up a bit. Ok, LT, the LTC and me are pretty conservative, we disagree on some things but for the most part we agree. Now, we have this female who is quite liberal (and a few other things as well that I wont go into) and since females are a touchy subject in the Army, they are sort of given allot more leeway than say I would get. She is also a minority, I hate to say it but female, minority, officer….see where this if going? 

Ok, back to story. So the LTC says this and then she counters with theories ( I stress this on purpose) about how the rich never pay their fair share because rich guys sitting in Washington have made it so they get out of paying all their taxes. We say to her, that the 10% pay something like 80% of the taxes paid. I know I have seen stats similar to this, she says she doesn’t memorize stats. Huh? So because you cannot remember a stat makes it not relevant? She argues that they don’t pay their fair share. I won’t bore you with the details, and frankly I started to block all her chatter out when I realized she was stupid and dead set on never changing her mind regardless of any statistics that are show to her. Regardless she insists that rich people figure out ways (which I am sure they do, hell if I had to pay nearly 30% of my income or more in taxes, I would find a way to fudge the numbers too) to get out of paying taxes and the entire burden of the taxes are paid by the lower and middle class.

So being the dick I am, I went and did some digging. Below are the most recent stats I could find (without spending a day looking through the net). This is data form the IRS, which I am sure she would say was fudged by rich guys to hold the lower and middle classes down and keep the truth from them.

For Tax Year 2006

Percentiles Ranked by AGI

AGI Threshold on Percentiles

Percentage of Federal Personal Income Tax Paid

Top 1%

$388,806

39.89

Top 5%

$153,542

60.14

Top 10%

$108,904

70.79

Top 25%

$64,702

86.27

Top 50%

$31,987

97.01

Bottom 50%

<$31,987

2.99

Note: AGI is Adjusted Gross Income
Source: Internal Revenue Service

Sort of funny really, I wonder if she realises she is most likely in the top 25% and her perctile is helping foot the bill for 75% of the population in the US. Good job! Voting and talking without the information. Ah the American voter, a smart creature!
Leave a Reply

