Book Review: Invisible Nation

invisnatn

The area I am deployed in is called Kurdistan unofficially, unless you ask a Kurd, then it is official. 😉 So I figured I had better read up and I selected this book based on reviews of it at  amazon.com, Invisible Nation: How the Kurds’ Quest for Statehood Is Shaping Iraq and the Middle East. For anyone serious about learning about this region of Iraq, I can say this is an amazing book, the details, the history, the people, all come to life in this book. As an American, and stuck to my news, I can say I did not know 1/5 of the information in this book, especially the stuff those bastards in Turkey have been doing over the years. This book can serve as a sort of modern history of the Kurds, mostly those in Iraq. If you are interested in learning about a part of Iraq that was NOT consumed by violence and terrorists (they kicked terrorist ass in their region with the US’s help in 2003), then this book is a must read. I highly, highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

