Review: Leverage

Television Show, Drama:  4.5/5

A friend turned me on to this show and I must saw I really like it. I have to confess, I have always dreamed of somehow becoming filthy rich and doing exactly what the guys on this show do. If you are my age or older, you may remember a tv show from the 80s called The Equalizer. Essentially a bad guy gone good and now works to help out the average Joe, that is exactly what this show is. A team of crooks team up to do one job, end up helping a good guy hurt a bad guy, and somehow end up filthy rich along the way. Now suddenly wealthy, they could stop and retire, but then they are pulled together one last time to help an American soldier in episode two. Maybe I am just sentimental because he is a soldier. They do good, and realize that it is great fun, and rather rewarding, to help average Joes beat the bad guys, and we are off to a show filled with awesomeness. The moment when Eliot Spencer (played by former Angel baddie Christian Kane!) walks up and thanks the wounded US Soldier after they show up with millions to pay for his treatment….ah I almsot cried. Silly me.

The team is perfect, though I am not a huge fan of Timothy Hutton, he does ok with the role. The rest of the cast is excellent, my favorites being Kane’s and Aldis Hodge’s Alec Hardison (the techno wizard of the team). These guys seriously look like they are having a great time playing these characters. When Kane’s character is introduced at a cafe in Serbia….I laughed so hard I woke up my neighbor. What really makes the show fun is the little side humor that sneaks up on you during the show, there is often small humor moments between the cast, and it really adds to the flavor of the show…somewhat reminds me of Bones actually.

The stories so far have been good, with creative ways of handling the situation and acting and directing have been well done. I seriously hope this show keeps going strong, I do love anything where the underdog wins the day, and with a smart and creative cast like this, add some good writing, and this show could go far. 

For more information on the show, including catching some of the previously aired episodes: http://www.tnt.tv/series/leverage/

Leave a Reply

