The General Store

Ok, this is something I made a while back, but since I like it, I figure it is worth posting again (for the first time here). This is a map I worked on last year while I was testing out a new, near realitic quality map style. I really like the way this turned out, nice and full of colors. However, now that I have realized how much maps (especially fancy ones like this) were killing the game by killing imagination, well, I prefer the simple maps I am making for the One Page Dungeons more than this. The map should spur the game further, not destract from it, imo.

genstore-screenie

4 thoughts on “The General Store

  1. For a second I thought it was from the GameMastery Map Pack Village.

    http://paizo.com/gameMastery/maps/campaignMapPacks/v5748btpy7lis

    Nice work! Very professional looking.

    I have to disagree that such detailed maps derail from game play. I’ve noticed that environmental factors can greatly change how an encounter plays. Empty room shells don’t give ideas like knocking over a box of oranges to create difficult terrain, or using the tools on the counter as improvised weapons.

    From a GM perspective, creating non-detailed maps saves me time. I sometimes use the Classic Dungeon Art Pak in Dundjinni or draw lines snapped to a grid in MapTool with a tiled parchment background for that very same reason.

  2. I agree with you completely. I want my maps and floorplans to look like maps and floorplans, not photographic overhead views. Anyone can put a map together using stuff from forums.

    I really like your one-page dungeon/adventure maps. They’re a perfect mixture of quirky and old-school.

  3. I can see both sides. When I ran my Aliens clone I had very detailed maps that were extremely atmospheric and I felt really added to the overall feel of the game. It felt like they were in a dark scary space station where aliens were waiting to rip your face off. If I had used a map like on the 1PageDungeons, it would not have been the same.
    However, as a GM I hate making detailed maps. Too often it ends up being used not nearly enough for the amount of work put into it and that leaves me, well, a little pissy.

    Brennen, if you like those, make a few suggestions on my earlier post. I am planning on doing more here in the near future.

  4. Yes, the ROI of time is seldom matched. That’s why I enjoy it when someone else, like you, makes them for me!

    This might be a good topic for further exploration. Prep time vs. yielded enjoyment and how one can save time and gain a return on minimal investment.

Leave a Reply

