Review: The Hunt for Gollum

blog stars fourNhalfThe Hunt For Gollum is an unofficial not for profit short film by a group of enthusiast filmmakers. As a Lord of the Rings Fan Film, we are not affiliated with the Tolkien Estate or New Line Cinema and are producing this project as an entirely non commercial film. As with other fan films we are making this purely for the enjoyment of the material and the experience of making a high quality low budget film.

banner12I stumbled upon this film today and I must say, I was completely blown away by the quality of the film. To know that some independent fans put this all together is simply stunning, I would never imagined that a home-grown production such as this could produce something as good as this. If Hollywood has seen this and blown it off, I now understand why Hollywood films suck so much these days. This was clearly put together by people who care about it, cherish it, and honestly care about what their name gets put on.

The film is about 40 minutes long and is totally free (watch it here for free) and is well worth your time. The production level is outstanding. I did not watch it in HD due to our bandwidth here being somewhat crappy, but I watched the regular version in full screen on my laptop and it was fine. The sweeping vistas are all CG, something I was shocked to discover, I thought they were all location shots! Hats of the the CG artist. The actors did a great job as well and were selected with a keen eye, Adrian Webster as Aragorn is the spitting image of Viggo, Gandalf was very good as well. Arwen I thought was a bit off, but she has a small part and I can live with it. The guys playing all the orcs were good as well, the small scene before Aragorn kills two of them was pretty funny. The costumes were even good! The make-up effects were very good as well, easily passing as the orcs from the original Lord of the Rings films, you can see a still from the film below. Hats off to the entire crew, they clearly are professional and did a outstanding job.

goblinThere was only one scene where I felt the effects were lacking and that was when the elves appeared before Aragorn, there is a shot, I believe it was supposed to be Gandalf shining his light through the forest that was, well, lacking a little, but it looks to be a rather tricky shot to pull off anyway. Other effects shots (least I think they were!) such as the large statue, some cavern shots, and some sets….were outstanding. Heck, even the full facial shot of Gollum at the end…damn near the official studio work if you ask me!

The story is decent, just a short film about Aragorn hunting down Gollum, so not a huge amount to work with but all the actors give it there all and did a fine job. For this to be a free film, just blows me away. Heck they even released the soundtrack for free!

All in all, I highly recommend this short film, it is certainly worth the time to download and watch, I suspect fans of the films will enjoy it immensely and those that love anything fantasy will enjoy it as well. Be sure to check it out!

The Hunt for Gollum!

Leave a Reply

