A note: the Risus Character Compendium

I am an avid reader of Risus Monkey’s blog, personally I feel one of the better blogs on gaming that I have found, probably the best Risus blog I have found, and certainly a much better blog than mine will ever be. In the next few days I will be posting some characters that I have made for my upcoming setting called Blackwood and dealing with the Order of the Blackwood, a secret society of persons who fight back the darkness, most often in a way hidden from the majority of the populace, so that the rest of us can live a normal life. This group ranges wide and far across the globe and has done so for well over two hundred years, and in fact has had members who are among some of the most famous and powerful people in society….

And so I ramble on about my pet project….

Any who, I have been reading Risus Monkey’s latest venture, a serious fantasy setting, and I absolutely love the way he has structured his characters. So in the highest form of flattery…I am stealing it. I just wanted to throw this out there so credit is given where it is due, he really did a fine job and…heck, why reinvent the wheel?

You can read about some of his excellent characters here:

Valdora BalinsdottirKandara TanumLiamas Appledore

And tune in for my own take on some characters that will be popping up in my Blackwood setting.

2 thoughts on “A note: the Risus Character Compendium

  1. Thanks for the praise and good luck with the Character Compendium. I am really looking forward to seeing what you do with it. One of the best (and most enjoyable) ways to develop and explain a setting is through it’s characters. And I really, really like Blackwood. It’s totally something that I’d run myself.

  2. Thanks! I just like to give credit where it is due, looking over your characters and how you set them up really inspired me to get off my duff and start fleshing out mine. I am hoping these characters I will be posting (and maybe a monster too!) will help inspire the two players I have in line for the play-by-skype and play-by-post games.

Leave a Reply

