My GAMES TO PLAY BEFORE YOU DIE

Inspired by this post I figured I should probably post my list of games:

  1. Risus. My killer game that I cannot even look at another game without thinking to myself “Risus could do this better”
  2. Marvel Super Heroes (original version). The game that made me LOVE gaming, though its mechanic is silly, boy it worked well. I think it has elements of later indie games hidden in there, or at least the second cousin of indie games.
  3. inSpectres. An amazing game that overcomes what seems to be impossible odds and works exceedingly well. I think this is THE best indie game I have played and one everyone should try.
  4. Munchkin. Easily one of the most fun games I have ever played, was able to pick this up with kids ranging from 6 to 13 and have a complete blast with it.
  5. The Pool. Right up there with Risus, this game is an experiment in extreme freedom and creativity. As players you will be pushed to invest in the game
  6. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. This game taught me to LOVE making games, my first game was created after I discovered this awesome game.
  7. Savage Worlds. Certainly one of the best traditional style games I have ever played. While not my favorite system these days, if you are a trad-gamer used to D&D, try it out, it will set you free.
  8. 3:16. Space Marines killing bugs, need I say more? Actually a very interesting system.
  9. D&D. At least some version should be played in your lifetime.
  10. Swords & Wizardry. I almost left this off the list but having played it a few times this really is the modern version of the old school games I played as a child.

I have a long list of games that I would like to play (Lacuna, Mouse Guard, All Flesh must be Eaten, etc) but having not played them I decided to leave them off this list. All this being said, if I were to be stranded on an island and could bring but one game? Risus. Hands down, it would be Risus.

Leave a Reply

