Half Completed Works: The Broken Forge

Here is a set of images I made for a game long ago. I think at the time we were using D&D 3.5, but it has been so long I am really not sure. I remember we had a great set of guys who made some really kick ass characters…and for some reason, probably me, the game died.

First is the company logo, the symbol I made for the group/party to use. I think at the time I was running a website where I posted the group’s activities, images, and playing aids. This logo sat at the top of their ‘page’. The name of the group came from a volcano they were heading towards and, unbeknown to the players, eventually entering. You can click the thumbnail for a larger version of the logo. I still really, really like this logo.

More details on this group and the various things I made for the game after the jump…

I also created a for the players to look at to get their bearings. The idea, and roughness, of this map was that I tried to mimic what a map that one of the actual characters in the group might draw up quickly to show their comrades where they were heading. It shows a simple layout with three towns (we started in the bottom right one if memory serves me), a forest, and a large mountain range. The players followed the road to the town of Culvert.

I made a quick map of Culvert simply because I like to make maps and I always have this idea in the back of my head that someday I will make and release a full world book, full of cool little maps like this that detail little corners of the world for the players to explore. Culvert is a simple little town situated in an alpine valley set in the mountains. There isn’t much to the town, but that was sort of the point. I wanted less NPCs here because I wanted the players to get to know them, learn to like and care for them, because in the end the real story was about them defending and subsequently saving the town.

One of the first things the players would visit and explore, was a mystical ring of stones called The Stone Guardians. I imagined the world as pretty heavy in faery magic, much like Ireland of Scotland, and I planned on using this as a place sacred to the faery. The players would have to ask the faeries to let them pass and enter the catacombs below the stones, which eventually would lead to a secret that would point them to entering the volcano known as The Broken Forge.

Next I created a logo (I created these so I could make an ‘entry’ on the webpage as it was a sort of encyclopedia of the game) for the dwarven ruins that lied beneath The Broken Forge called Haernhold. I never got around to making this dungeon as the game faded into nothing prior to the players even getting close to entering it, but my plan was to have a dungeon that was partially destroyed by the volcano, with magma filled rooms, streams of magma scattered here and there, and a large lake of magma….course all accompanied by those nasty magma elementals.

I also made a few other pieces of artwork for the site as play aids for the players to look at and use during the course of the adventure. These were mainly what I call ‘flavor’ and were really a way for me to test various aspects of creation and then not waste my time with mere experiments. To the right is a letter I believe one of the players received that I used as a macGuffin to get the players moving in the correct direction towards Culvert. Once they were in motion, I would use this momentum to simply steer the game in the correct direction.

Lastly, I am going to include the character portraits I made for the game simply for nostalgic reasons, the artwork inside the frame is not mine, as the players gathered them up from various places around the web. I think the players did an outstanding job coming up with a wide, and creative, bunch of characters.

Leave a Reply

