Books of Enlightenment: Time Travel to the 14th Century

Thanks to “Bat in the Attic“s blog, I came across this wonderful book, The Time Traveler’s Guide to Medieval England: A Handbook for Visitors to the Fourteenth Century and I have to say it is awesome. I am only through about the first 50 or so pages and I will do up a full review when finished but I want to encourage everyone that is a history buff to check this book out.

If you have been playing RPGs for decades like me, you have a certain idea of what life was back in the “Dark Ages” and more than likely, one that is not very accurate. This book takes the idea that you are a traveler going back to the 14th century, oftentimes comparing what we think it should be like to what it really was like (or IS as the book writes it).

Being a history buff and a gaming nerd, I thought I would already have a decent handle on how things really were, but wow, I am wrong. This book has already opened up my eyes on many things such as what a large city would actually be like with details on the houses people lived in, waste removal, the types of money that would be passed around, and what that money would buy. The explanations of the ranks of nobles and clergy is a real eye opener for those of us taught the ‘D&D way’.

In any case, I highly recommend this book, and I have only finished the first 50 pages!

2 thoughts on “Books of Enlightenment: Time Travel to the 14th Century

  1. Making my way through the book right now and I have to say that it is *very* informative and interesting. My wife recommended it to me when I mentioned that it would be cool to have a time travelers guide to ancient eras. I had no idea such a book existed.

Leave a Reply

