update of sorts

I have been very busy with work lately and having a hell of a time getting caught up with things. You might think that the holidays would be slow for us, but actually it is just as busy as always. Most of us went in for at least a few hours on Christmas eve and Christmas day, times that by the 20+people I typically speak with every day and you can see how I could still manage to get 30 emails even on Christmas day.

Anyway, an update:

– I ordered a Targus stylus from besybuy for myself for Christmas, hoping it is here in the next few days, maybe i will show off some massive mapping skills here soon.

– Apparently the internet is still a new thing here in Iraq and we cannot count on it all the time, this last week i have had better luck getting on the net with my iPad than i have had with my laptop. For $65 a month, i expect better, but i guess beggars cannot be choosers.

– I am in the initial stages of starting up an ongoing Risus campaign set in an alternate Victorian setting where steam rules (I know, not very original). I have four seemingly eager players, one has his character ready, another has a great idea for a character. I have completed a rules primer as well as a short world guide to kind of getting them ready for the game. Once my Internet is running better, I will upload those two files here for everyone to read. Nothing spectacular, but i like them.

– Along with this coming game, I have started a play by email game with the player who already finished his character, consider it a prelude to the ‘campaign’ if you will. I wanted to do this because I thought it would spur my creative side, but also allow me a chance to provide some background and depth to the game in a situation where we are not sitting around the table. It was Bryan’s idea, but I quickly stole it. So far we are going along well and setting up some good background for his character and creating a decent little story along the way. We will post this play by email (actual play really, in some manner or so) a little later down the road.

Anyway, thats where I am right now. Still hoping to get some more issues of Lapsus Calumni under my belt, but right now I just do not have the time to do so.

5 thoughts on “update of sorts

  1. It’s good to hear that you are getting some gaming done. I’m looking forward to your next installment of the zine, and to see the fruits of your cartographic efforts.

    Be well.

    1. Thank you! We did take an afternoon off on Christmas eve and have an office party, was a nice break from the normal, o h and i completed Halo Reach, so it has been a decent week….not all work.
      Merry late Christmas to you, and happy new year!

  2. Merry Christmas (belated) and well wishes for the New Year. I hope you get home soon. Until then, good luck with the Risus game. It probably goes without saying, but I’m super interested in that one (both for system and genre).

Leave a Reply

