N: Trying New things (Geomorph 14)

20110411-020129.jpg

Eh gads! I almost went an entire week without a single geomorph! Gasp!

I was watching some tv shows I downloaded and for some reason the thought came to me for this geomorph, not really sure why. The image of a huge cavernous pit with a rickety rope and wood bridge to get across it just seemed right to me for some reason. Maybe it is my love for Indiana Jones.

As I approached this one I had to try out a few New things for my geomorph to work, the biggest being the pit. I had created a few previously but I always felt they were off a bit, something just didn’t sit well for me. In this one I think I did a better job, again not perfect, but when trying to stay rather mono-tone, your options are limited. I broke from that mono-tone color for the wooden planks on the bridge. The bridge was another New element I needed to tackle, I wanted it too look unstable and stand out against the rest of the geomorph, it is the centerpiece and needs to be the focus or draw.

I also included the obligatory rounded dungeon walls I have been told are more realistic. 🙂

With this geomorph I am going to start something New as well (I capitalized the N…see a pattern??). From this point forward I am going to include the geomorph in it’s original state: 900×900 image. This is the native size I create them in and then resize down to a size to match other geomorphs out there. I seriously dislike the tiny 300×300 we use online, I feel it is to small to really be super useful. Maybe it is my old eyeballs.

At some point, probably on a lazy post day, I will repost all previous geomorphs in their original 900×900 glory for those interested. So, here is geomorph 14 in all it’s full size glory.

20110411-020902.jpg

20110402-021322.jpg

This serves as another entry for the RPG Carnival hosted by Dysos Logos this month as well as an entry for the A to Z Blogging Challenge.

Join in the fun! I know you love maps too!

3 thoughts on “N: Trying New things (Geomorph 14)

Leave a Reply

