Isometric Geomorphs

Or, my attempt “to be a god among geomorphers.” 😉

Since we are tossing around ‘suggestions’ (read: challenges) I figure I get on board. I recently posted a comment regarding a thought I had about geomorphs and Brennen immediately figured out I was talking about making an attempt at a Isometric Geomorph. He was right. Damn him, knows me too well.

I fell in love with Iso maps when Ravenloft came out, the maps were ‘taking mapping to the next level’ for me in those early days of our hobby and made the module a favorite of my games. The uniqueness of the main baddie and how he was presented in the game I am sure helped.

But it was the maps, the many many cool maps.

A quick scan of Google resulted in almost no isometric maps, those I could find were merely computer RPGs that featured an isometric viewing angle (like Command & Conquer). I did find an interesting article on a blog by Thomas Denmark. (I also suggest checking out his other map derivations he posted over the years.)

Back to Ravenloft, if you take a look at one of the awesome maps I managed to locate through my Google-Fu, you will see what I mean. I mean, check that out to the right, that just kicks ass. I remember one time (not at band camp) I ran Ravenloft for my friends and during a particularly difficult fight with a nasty ghoul, the PCs ended up breaking through the wall on the level second from the bottom and heading out onto the roof to do battle in a rainy, black night. If the map had not shown that the roof was right there, it would not have come to pass that way and certainly added that sort of something to make the fight very memorable. The maps just evokes all sorts of idea in me old mind.

I just learned that not only was David Sutherland was an avid map maker and illustrator, but also an Army guy like me! Awesome! Do I deviate too much? 😉

Oops, back to the point (again). Sadly I found no isometric geomorphs buried on Google. So, I quickly drew up up a template in Fireworks to start playing around with an IsoGeo.

Not sure on the angle on there, looks off to me.

That looks better to me. But, then I got to thinking, if we are going to go three dimensions, we should really just go all out. I mean, if you are going to go all out, you really should go all out. So I give you the IsoGeo 3D template™.

Or perhaps it should be more 3d, with the entrances located in the middle of the sides? I left the outside openings on there for reference, but heck, now I am not sure which way to go with this. I will think on it some more.

So I am throwing down the gauntlet. I want to see some Isometric geomorphs. Now, who is game?

7 thoughts on “Isometric Geomorphs

  1. I did an experiment with an isometric “map” some month ago (using small building blocks I drew first). The result can be found here. WARNING: no geomorph!

    I like the idea of the first isometric (with the more squeezed look), but I think the full “3D”-version will be hard to picture (and draw!).

  2. @Jensan- Very cool stuff, I think that is the right track, and I like the style….

    @m.s. jackson….truly evil bastards….now after looking at jensan’s stuff, I’m really thinking about this…..quit being so EVIL….:)

  3. @Stone hehe, just felt like messing around early this morning. I think I am going to stick to the SideMorphs for awhile. They are thoroughly enjoyable, fits with what I am doing for my current game group, I dig the way they look and I want to do a little more perfecting before I switch gears just yet.

  4. I’d really love to pull off some isomorphs. But I worry about a) the time it would take to produce them and b) how easily they can be combined on paper. I still think it’ll work, but I have nagging doubts.

    Jensan’s stuff looks like a good start, though way beyond my artistic ability.

    1. I think a decision has to be made on the number of connections, if we just combine the top view and side view alone we are at 16, which is far far too many. Perhaps it should be more like one per side, but even then you have six with one iso alone, again, a lot.

      Someone will get bored and try it. 🙂

  5. Going with true 3d means that there is no way you’ll be able to just print them out and lay them out.

    If anything, Isometric morphs will end up having to be flatter than the regular ones, because you don’t want the contents of one morph to block the visibility of the contents of morphs you lay down “behind” it.

Leave a Reply

