The Magic Thief (review)

About a week ago, I started falling in love with my iPad again.

I was once an avid reader and would be able to devour an average sized book in about two or three days, but as I grew older, got married, joined the Army (read: got a real job), then had children, I discovered my free time to read had dwindled to almost nothing. Then I deployed three years ago and realized one of the benefits, one of the few benefits, of deploying is I sometimes have extra time. After all, you cannot work 24/7.

Using this love of reading, but my need to have quick, easy to read things I gradually turned often to children’s books. I blogged about this not too long ago so I will not go into the details, but suffice to say that I find em easier, quicker, and as crazy as this sounds….better. The sample chapters offered up by Amazon for their Kindle App is simply one of the best things I have found about my iPad and encourage everyone to at least try out the Kindle, or whatever eBook reader you prefer (my mother loves her Nook) and experience the ability to carry 50+ books in the palm of your hand.

I mentioned a few days ago I downloaded the sample chapter of The Magic Thief by Sarah Prineas. The first chapter was a easy and quick read, a few of my requirements (see above), so I purchased the entire book. I fell in line with my old habits, staying awake far too late on evening to just about finish the rest of the book in a single setting. I was able to finish the remainder of the book waiting for a flight at the Baghdad airport (my life is interesting at times). I hate reviews that simply retell the story, it sort of ruins the story for me, so I will be lite on details of the tale.

I will say this is a typical young-scrapper-of-a-kid who is sort of an orphan and left for himself who becomes important to something bigger than him and save the day. Whew. The cast of the story is small, which I like, and each is developed over the story. They begin as rather shallow archetypes that then evolve over the length of the story, much like real time in my opinion. The effect is that we jump to initial conclusion about some of the characters that slowly change as we get to them them better. The tale flows naturally and easily, I really like Prineas’ style of writing, direct and too the point, seen from the point of view of the main character, with a sort of young and inexperienced eye towards the world. The style and use of magic in this book has a nice twist, and one that is left open to more exploration in later books, just scratching the surface of how magic works in this world. The world is described only to the point that fits with the story, you won’t find any long, drawn out history of the world here. That said, there is plenty to explore. There are enough mysterious characters, and characters that we are just getting to know, to make the next book in the series a non-brainer.

I bought it immediately after finishing the first book. ๐Ÿ™‚

If you like an easy read, that has quick chapters you can read through over lunch or on a break, this is perfect. Decent character development, realistic reactions from people, and nothing too earth shattering or crazy histories that you need to follow. I would give this 4 out of 5 starts for a review and recommend it to anyone with an idea for an easy, fun adventure. Ages 5 (if you read it to them) up to maybe 12 would enjoy this. Then of course, those over 35 too. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

